Pantomimes are often synonymous with Christmas time, but they’re just so much fun and I think they should be on all year round. Obviously, this meant I was delighted to be invited to The Jungle Book, which is New Theatre Royal Lincoln’s 2022 Easter panto. It was an evening full of laughter and cheer. The children in the audience really do make it because they’re always so excited and some of the shouts that happen are just hilarious!

I was invited along last Friday to the opening night and to review the show. We had so much fun and if you’re looking for something to do with the family over Easter, then look no further!

Left to right – Georgia Hayes-Cowley as Raksha and Kyla Hurdley as Mowgli. Photo credit: Stuart Glover.

The show

The Jungle Book is the story we all know and love with an NTR twist. With it being an In-House production, produced entirely by New Theatre Royal, it means that it is extremely important to the survival of the beautiful, historic theatre through revenue. It also means that it’ll be different from any production of The Jungle Book you’ve seen before.

The cast were all so energetic and the script was witty. The stand-out for me though was Arran Wilson who played Bagheera. I couldn’t stop laughing at how sassy Bagheera was and the constant movement and posing was just brilliant and really brought the role to life.

I also wanted to mention how genius the “village people” joke was. I won’t explain it here, but if you are curious I implore you to go catch a show before it’s gone and you’ll see what I mean! I was howling – quite literally through the fab audience particpation.

Left to right – Georgia Hayes-Cowley as Raksha, Chris Hayes as Baloo, Arran Wilson as Bagheera, Chris Johnson as The Monkey King and Kyla Hurdley as Mowgli. Photo credit: Stuart Glover.

The Jungle Book is running at New Theatre Royal on Clasketgate in Lincoln from Friday 8th April until Saturday 16th April. Children’s tickets are £12 and Adults’ are £19.50. Book yourself in for an evening of panto fun by visiting www.newtheatreroyallincoln.co.uk – you won’t regret it!

Until next time,

Rebecca x

AD – A big thank you to Ollie & The New Theatre Royal team for making this press visit possible. 

I am so appreciative of all your support. If you like what I do and want to support me further, you can buy me a cup of tea over on ko-fi. Thank you!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started